1 - 9
*NEW* EziRating: 5.1/10
SilverOaks Hotel On Thorndon has received 67 ratings from Ezibed.com customers. The displayed rating of 5.1 out of 10 is the average of these 67 ratings.
"It is a bit run down and needs refurbishment." Robert Scovell, 10 May 2012
"While the amenities are modest they suited our purpose and we found the staff helpful and accomodating when it came to extending our parking priviledges. We will stay again when next in Wellington." Anonymous, 27 January 2012
"The location of this motel is very strategic, i.e. close to town, highway and the botanical garden. The room itself is pretty average but has the potential to do well with some upgrade. Overall a pleasant, comfortable stay. Rates are very reasonable." Mohammad Hafetz, 26 November 2011
"No bathmat or hand towel provided even when we asked at reception. Because shower curtain too short water flooded out onto floor and nothing available to mop it up - REAL SAFETY ISSUE!! Bathroom/shower cleaning not good enough. Breakfast included is a bonus and of acceptable standard and location good." Anonymous, 17 November 2011
"Customer Service/reception was good but room and bedding could do with a proper clean!" Anonymous, 14 September 2011
"Basic hotel, good sized rooms but badly in need of a makeover. Reasonable value for money. Nice location opposite the Botanical gardens." Terry James, 28 August 2011
"Basic and old hotel. Clean but worn around the edges, very small bath. Good free shuttle service to town/ferry. The budget price matches the quality of the stay." Nine, 2 August 2011
"The whole place is in very bad disrepair and though it stated on the information that there was room service this was not available in the weekend. No heat pump just small fan heater." Anonymous, 20 July 2011
"Friendly and helpful staff and a good location on the fringe of the CBD. This means you are close to the city but in a quiet and green location opposite the beautiful Wellington botanical gardens. Breakfast was really good value. The property itself is somewhat dated (looks very 70s)compared to other properties available in Wellington but represents good value for Wellington at well under $100 a night (including free parking)." David, 22 April 2011
"This was an awful place to stay. The room was barely clean. Windows had cracks in them. Elevator was rickety/and the doors got stuck because the open button didn't work. Bed quilt was stained. There were hardly any toiletries and only one mustard-yellow facecloth. The shower pressure was terrible. The Ezibed booking said that breakfast with fresh berry muffins would be included - there were no muffins at all. The continental breakfast we ordered was delivered incomplete. We were told the chef had called in sick. The instant coffee sachets in the room were very old and dusty, and the coffee tasted yuck. The hotel was impossible to find because it isn't called 'quality hotel on thorndon' it's called silver oaks thorndon and shares a site with Sharella motor lodge, which has most of the signage. We drove up and down the street trying to find the hotel. The bed was lumpy/over-soft and the sheets were worn. THIS WAS AN AWFUL HOTEL." Anonymous, 18 March 2011
SilverOaks Hotel On Thorndon Response: Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. We do believe the rooms are very clean, but have passed your comments on to the housekeeper and Manager to fully inspect your room. The windows were all recently replaced, ie brand new windows to the Hotel, we did not find a crack in your window. There are two elevators one is a guest lift and the other is a service lift, I am guessing from your description that you may have used the service lift. We do offer environment friendly toiletries in all the rooms. I agree the menu does include berry muffins for breakfast and apologise for these not being available.
Ezibed.com Response: Thank you for your review. We will be contacting this property and requesting that they provide an explanation as to why you were not provided with muffins as advertised, and the other property issues that you have raised.
"Not impressed!! The name Quality Hotel was not on any signage, it took a while to find. They did have Sharella Motor Inn and Silver Oaks Hotel on outside, and when inside found all 3 names on paper work.Things not functioning as advertised on web site: No shuttle service. No sky tv/ digital/ or any T.V. reception, no complimentary toiletries.Also not working: Half the light bulbs blown, shower curtain too small/ leaks, bathroom fan broken.Found mildew in most corners and on curtains. Bedding stained and smelled bad" Paul Omundsen, 15 March 2011
SilverOaks Hotel On Thorndon Response: Thank you for your feedback. The Hotel has now changed names as the main signage would indicate the Hotel is now called SilverOaks Hotel On Thorndon, all other signage has been removed. There should only be the one name on any paper work you hold, as you can imagine it is a large job to change a name and we continually correct the listing where necessary. We do offer a shuttle service to the Ferry Terminal and the railway station, we do offer free2view TV, we do provide complimentary toiletries in all the rooms, we provide soft soap by the vanity, and shampoo/ shower gel in the shower, both of these products are environmentally friendly.We have raised the issue of the blown light bulb with our house keeper to ensure that all light bulbs are checked daily, and it does appear the shower curtain was replaced with a bath curtain, this has now been attended to.We have checked the room and did not find any mildew, we do update our linen on a regular basis, and will follow this up with our laundry attendant.Thank you for your comments.
Ezibed.com Response: Thank you Mr Omundsen for your review. Ezibed will contact this property and ask that they address the issues that you have outlined.
"Quality Inn was lovely to stay at; staff very friendly and helpful, accommodation all I needed, and free breakfasts lovely.If I had to be picky, the decor is getting to the tired and shoddy stage, the meals very ordinary, and why, oh why, does the place have three names?? My friend was simply unable to locate me." Suzanne Williams, 15 February 2011
SilverOaks Hotel On Thorndon Response: Thank you for your positive comments about our friendly and helpful staff. The Hotel does just have one name on all the signage, SilverOaks Hotel On Thorndon, all other signage has now been removed.
"The only positive I can say about this hotel is even though the sheets had biddies on them the beds were comfortable. Thank goodness we only stayed three nights because the shower never worked. We were given a shower to use in another unit. The front person on reception at night was not professional at all. He started complaining about how he wasn't paid enough. The decor was incredibly outdated and the walls had paint peeling. The photos did not accurately describe this accommodation. I would not recommend this hotel and I will not stay at this hotel again." Leonie Loveridge, 14 February 2011
SilverOaks Hotel On Thorndon Response: We are disappointed to receive your feedback. Thank you for the feedback on our night Manager, this is something we will need to resolve. We have commenced the internal refurbishment and we starting on the 4th floor, we do hope to see you back at some stage in the future.
"Toilet would not flush. Could not lock the front door." Te Waa Owens, 9 February 2011
SilverOaks Hotel On Thorndon Response: Thank you for the feedback. The room doors do lock automatically once they are shut, we also have door chairs and peepholes for extra security, Regards.
"Very basic. Smelly passageways. The room needs major redecorating. I didn't like the place and would not stay there again unless there was a major refit." Peter, 29 January 2011
"The hotel looked very run down, blankets were threadbare. Front desk service was good." Christopher Kaufman, 11 August 2010
"Heater didn't work in room, Ordered meal and this didn't arrive as ordered." Joseph Howell, 5 July 2010
"Very average, whole place in need of a good spruce up." Rick Finlayson, 9 March 2010
"Tired and run down - sheets pilled, curtains coming adrift, phone not connected, no TV remote, loud squeaks from door when wind blew." Christchurch guest, 5 March 2010
"Fridge very noisy and not particulary effective. No tea towel. Cleaning not to the standard expected. Very noisy pipes? or something from time-to-time. Had to ask reception to send a copy of all stay receipts since Jan 2010 as they are not always available.. Quality processes and checks need to be installed and monitored." Anonymous, 28 February 2010
"Sub standard-wrong room to start no double bed, Musty smelling room-no jug.Second room had double,large window no putty along bottom ,dangerous and rattled at night." Nigel Airey, 22 February 2010
"Budget accommodation in good location - 7-10 minute walk to Parliament end of city, through the Botanical Gardens. Older style property with reasonable size rooms. It's not flash, but it's good value. If you're paying under $100 a night, don't expect 4 star. Free parking (worth $15 elsewhere in town) is a bonus in Wellington, and a good low-cost/included breakfast add value." Amanda Mitchell, 9 February 2010
"No shampoo old rundown i don't how they would call it quality." Michael Kennedy, 8 February 2010
"It was wonderful like being at Faulty Towers !!! The staff told us about all their troubles like trying to find beds, presenting the option of warm or cold beer, a unit with or without a bathroom light. or an ironing board.but no iron. Cheers lots of fun and laughter !!! I think though you need to review the star rating Our rating is based on amusement only !!!!!" Neil Furby, 8 February 2010
"Poor service - had to ask for toilet paper! Female staff polite but obviously needed more training. Requested wake-up call which was not given. Person driving shuttle was unfriendly and had an abrasive attitude which is not what a visitor is looking for." Anonymous, 2 February 2010
"Reminded me of accomodation in India a little hospital like, perhaps the moth balls" Anonymous, 1 February 2010
"On arrival Staff on front desk seemed disinterested in working, Manager & Manageress were extremely helpful especially when daughter was ill & needed to get to Doctors,Room was good only no air circulation even with windows open too hot during night airconditioning might go down well" Carol Dobbe, 31 January 2010
"So easy to find, plenty of parking, complimentary breakfast and courtesy van to ferry. What more could you ask for?" Helen Rust, 26 December 2009
"Stay was good. Shoddy rooms but we loved our stay and would stay again." Grant Gamlen, 17 December 2009
"I have rated overall a 6. The building is old and a bit tired. Our shower walls had the laminate peeling off. It is badly in need of a refurbish. The staff were very friendly and considering the age of it, it was clean as it could be." Dianne Southey, 9 December 2009
"The room itself was very basic with no extra blankets or pillows available. The facility also looked very tired. There were stains on the carpet and the hot water did not run straight away and it wasn't until I ran the bath tap that the shower worked properly.On a positive note, because our shuttle taxi was running late, the gentleman made available the hotel van at no cost. Some of the staff were very pleasant and professional, others needed to lift their game." Anonymous, 12 November 2009
"This is a very sub-standard hotel. It is extremely outdated and to us felt very dirty. The rooms were not cleaned well during our stay. The floors in the bathroom were left wet and not cleaned at all (along with the toilet and basin). We had to ask for soap after we had checked in. Towels were taken to be cleaned in the morning and not returned until 5pm. The lift doors continued to close even if something was in the way of them. The only good point of the hotel was its location." Anonymous, 13 October 2009
"Good value and I would stay again. However, was not happy with restaurant meal service. Food was poorly cooked/presented, did not represent value and service was very amateurish. Breakfast was fine." Mark Nansett, 21 September 2009
"This is a good place to stay, central, good parking etc. My only complaint is that the TV was not the best and we had no remote. When we asked for one it didn't work. Our main light also wasn't working, again not followed up." Stephanie Ash, 14 September 2009
"Excellent for a budget hotel." Graeme Wake, 26 August 2009
"They did not have a room available with a double bed. After some deliberation they found a bed that was right next to the traffic for us." Paul Laslett, 31 March 2009
"Was not the best welcome and the place is tired. All our 3 rooms were not suitable (each room had 3 single beds in them). We asked to be moved, which they did except one couple was on a different floor. Also the "Wine Package" was not there and after enquiring into this twice - we were eventually given our wine." Christine Barns, 11 February 2009
"Booked the FREE WINE package but never recieved the free wine, outrages charges for food and drinks in the mini fridge (not aware of prices prior to taking goods). Final departure tainted by rude staff member who refused to honor the pre-arranged shuttle to the train station so had to arrange taxi at last minute for blind elderly woman with 2 kids - disappointing experience." Eunice Wallace, 1 February 2009
"Convenient for all city activities. Facilities are improving." Anonymous, 26 January 2009
"Friendly staff, pretty location across from the gardens, but room was a bit stuffy and it was not as close to the city as I expected." Elizabeth Williams, 8 January 2009
"Satisfactory as usual but not top drawer." Anonymous, 15 December 2008
"We booked this hotel because we were only going to be staying a few hours before catching an early flight to Sydney from Wellington. The hotel is in a sad state. Its a real shame to see that this kind of 'hotel' still exists in New Zealand today. Its like something out of the 70's at best. The decor and everything about the place needs to be replaced, refurbished and renewed. It smelled old and damp. As this used to be an old Motor-in it looks like it has been taken over recently by the Quality Hotel chain. A revamp therefore may be on the cards. The receptionist at check-in was lovely and there was a cot in the room at no extra charge, but otherwise the place was a bit sad. Would not have paid over $90 for it." M M, 16 September 2008
"No change from other occasions. It is conveniently central. Should be better when renovations are complete. Staff are friendly and helpful." Alan Simpson, 25 August 2008
"Had booked the Wine offer but staff couldn't supply a bottle of wine. However as location is convenient will no doubt use this hotel again." Alan Simpson, 14 July 2008
"We were accidentally overcharged on departure. Despite hotel reception initiating refund action to our credit card at the time, and subsequent followup a couple of weeks later, we are still waiting for the refund 8 weeks later. Aparently "Head Office" will be getting around to it "soon"." Anonymous, 3 July 2008
"Friendly staff though some had poor comprehension of English. Hotel still needs upgrading as many fixtures and fittings are in poor condition. Location excellent and convenient to CBD." Anonymous, 26 May 2008
"Whilst the Hotel is still in need of considerable maintenance, the room was comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.I would certainly stay there again. It is convenient to the CBD." A M Simpson, 5 May 2008